#

Becoming

On June 21, 1956, the Council of Ministers of the USSR had set the historical target for the company: to start large-scale production of ingots and semi-finished products from titanium alloys.  In February 1957 the first titanium ingot with the diameter of 100 mm and with the weight of 4 kg was melted at VSMPO.

In 1959, the press-forging facility was put into operation equipped with unique horizontal and vertical presses, among which was the most powerful forging press in the world with the capacity of 75.000 ton. The growing demand for high-quality products produced by the company called for expansion of production. Vast investments were made in reconstruction of production facilities. 

In 1966, new rolling facility was put into production for manufacture of titanium and stainless steel sheet and plate. In 1968, the new melting and casting shop was brought into production for manufacture of large-size titanium ingots for application in the atomic submarines of the latest generation. Great work was performed on development, improvement and launching into production of the new titanium alloys for specific aerospace and shipbuilding projects. Essentially, the plant has become not only the large production facility, but also one of the leading research and development centers in the field of titanium production.

On January 18, 1971, the plant personnel were awarded with the Order of Red Banner for mastering of the new technologies. 

In 1976, the largest titanium ingot in the world with the weight of 15 ton was melted at the plant.

But it wouldn’t be fair to ascribe all the success and achievements of the company staff only to titanium. Long-length aluminum panel and section, large-size aluminum alloy die forging, die forgings from steel and nickel-alloys – this is the incomplete list of “non-titanium” VSMPO products. Mill products manufactured at VSMPO were used in such projects as space complex “Soyuz  – Apollo”, space shuttle “Buran”, launch vehicle “Energy”, huge transport airplanes АN-124 (“Ruslan”), АN-225 (“Mria”) – almost in every aerospace project of the former USSR as well as in shipbuilding, power engineering, chemical, pulp-and-paper and other industries.

In 1983, for important contribution to development of the domestic aviation metallurgy VSMPO was awarded with the Order of October Revolution.

By the end of the 80s, VSMPO has become not only the significant domestic producer, but the world’s largest supplier of semi-finished titanium products. The amount of titanium ingots melted at VSMPO was 1.5 times more than that produced in the rest of the world!

Near 15 ton titanium ingot. February, 1976.

Near 15 ton titanium ingot. February, 1976.

#

Становление

Решением Совета Министров СССР от 21 июня 1956 года перед заводом была поставлена историческая задача: начать крупносерийное производство слитков и полуфабрикатов из титановых сплавов. В феврале 1957 года был выплавлен первый титановый слиток диаметром 100 мм и весом 4 кг.

В 1959 году вводится в строй действующих кузнечно-прессовый корпус, оснащенный уникальными горизонтальными и вертикальными прессами, среди которых крупнейший в мире - усилием 75 тыс. тс. Растущие потребности в высококачественной продукции, производимой заводом, требовали расширения производства. В реконструкцию предприятия вкладываются колоссальные средства.

В 1966 году вступает в строй действующих новый прокатный цех, производящий листы и плиты из титана и нержавеющей стали. В 1968 году в эксплуатацию вводится литейный цех по выплавке крупногабаритных титановых слитков, предназначенных для создания нового поколения атомных подводных лодок. Проводится огромная работа по разработке, совершенствованию и внедрению в производство новых титановых сплавов под конкретные авиакосмические и судостроительные проекты. Завод по существу становится не только производственным, но и одним из основных научно-исследовательских центров в области развития титанового производства.

18 января 1971 года за организацию производства новой техники коллектив завода награждается орденом Трудового Красного Знамени.

В 1976 году на заводе был выплавлен крупнейший в мире титановый слиток массой 15 тонн.

Но было бы не правильно все успехи и достижения заводчан связывать только с титаном. Длинномерные панели и профили, крупногабаритные штамповки из алюминиевых сплавов, штамповки из стали и сплавов на никелевой основе - вот неполный перечень "не титановой" продукции завода. Изготовленные на нашем предприятии полуфабрикаты были использованы в таких научно-технических разработках, как космический комплекс "Союз - Апполон", корабль многоразового использования "Буран", ракетоноситель "Энергия", гиганты-транспортники АН-124 ("Руслан"), АН-225 ("Мрия") - практически во всех авиационных и космических проектах бывшего СССР, а также судостроении, химической, целлюлозно-бумажной промышленности, энергетике и других отраслях.

В 1983 году за заслуги в развитии отечественной авиационной металлургии ВСМПО было награждено орденом Октябрьской Революции.

К концу 80-х годов ВСМПО стало крупнейшим поставщиком титановых полуфабрикатов не только в стране, но и в мире. Количество выплавляемых титановых слитков превышало их количество, производимое всем остальным миром, в полтора раза!

	Возле титанового слитка массой 15 тонн. Февраль 1976 г.

Возле титанового слитка массой 15 тонн. Февраль 1976 г.